Ubuntu Technical

Ubuntu technical problems and solutions reference, a modern cookbook.

Sub-Process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)

I will start my technical problems/solutions threads with an issue I had the other day, that bugged me for more then 1 hour.

I have 2 HDDs and 3 operating systems. I wanted to customize grub, so that it has more eye-candy in it. After tempering with manual configuration for a while, I came across burg (burg is a brand-new boot loader based on grub). I also found in Ubuntu’s repositories the tool “Super Boot Manager”:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:ingalex/super-boot-manager
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install super-boot-manager

It’s a useful tool to configure both grub and burg. Looking through burg’s options, I’ve noticed the themes. Double-click, install. That’s what I did..unfortunately before installing burg. I thought, I won’t uninstall the theme… I just install burg. During burg’s installation…. I received this error:

Sub-Process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)

.. plus also a bunch of text related to the fact the package burg-theme-<name of the theme> is badly damaged and can’t be repaired, I should re-install. A re-install of the theme was met with the same error as above. Of course an uninstall of burg was not possible because the themes could not be removed….same error as above.

This wouldn’t have been so much of a problem because I could have stayed with my original grub (I have modified) since that was still the main loader. But, my package manager (yes, I have Synaptic) was complaining about broken packages namely the burg theme.

I won’t describe all the efforts I put into solving this problem, suffice to say, I’ve managed to solve it. I have found out that in my attempt to install burg, I’ve used /dev/sdb as the location for installation. This is my secondary drive, where Ubuntu resides. However, grub was installed on /dev/sda.

So I’ve run the following command:

sudo burg-install /dev/sda &amp;&amp; sudo update-burg

Everything miraculously got solved. The theme was no longer corrupt and burg re-installed correctly.

Love Linux 😉


Flattr this

Leave a Reply

