Ubuntu Technical

Ubuntu technical problems and solutions reference, a modern cookbook.

Install ATI official drivers in Ubuntu

I find myself pretty often installing or re-installing my official ATI drivers for my video card. So here is a safe guide which will guide you through all the steps.

For a 64 bit system, install this first:

sudo apt-get install ia32-libs

Run each of these, one at the time, if getting any faults ignore it.

sudo sh /usr/share/ati/fglrx-uninstall.sh
sudo apt-get remove --purge fglrx fglrx_* fglrx-amdcccle* fglrx-dev*

Remove your xorg.conf file

sudo rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Re-install xorg

sudo apt-get install --reinstall libgl1-mesa-glx:i386 libgl1-mesa-glx:amd64 libgl1-mesa-dri:i386 libgl1-mesa-dri:amd64 xserver-xorg-core

Configure xorg

sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg

Reboot:

sudo reboot

After the reboot all the fglrx packages will be gone, you will be using default ones.

Download the newest ATI driver (current version is 12.1)

wget http://www2.ati.com/drivers/linux/amd-driver-installer-12-1-x86.x86_64.run

Once downloaded go to the file location and set it to run as executable

cd /path_of_the_file
chmod 755 amd-driver-installer-12-1-x86.x86_64.run

Use these steps to install

sh ./amd-driver-installer-12-1-x86.x86_64.run --buildpkg Ubuntu/oneiric
sudo dpkg -i fglrx*.deb

Once the driver is installed you need to start up a new xorg.conf file with this command

sudo aticonfig --initial -f

Reboot

sudo reboot



Flattr this

16 responses to “Install ATI official drivers in Ubuntu

  1. Heitor December 25, 2011 at 4:19 am

    Everything goes ok until I type sudo aticonfig –initial -f.
    It says
    sudo: aticonfig: command not found
    What shoud I do? :(

  2. Heitor January 29, 2012 at 4:14 am

    Well I’m trying to install it now at openSUSE, which uses gnome 3.2 and used to have problems with the ati official driver (flickering and stuff). Since i’ve just installed the OS, I will pass the first steps, because i havent installed any driver before :)

  3. ODS March 29, 2012 at 4:36 am

    When I type “sudo aticonfig –initial -f” I keep getting “aticonfig: No supported adapters detected
    “. Im running Ubuntu 11.10 64-bit with an ati radeon Xpress 1100m.

    • arzki March 29, 2012 at 8:29 am

      Your card, being an older one, is not supported by Catalyst driver. On this link you can check the ATI cards supported and their associated drivers: ATI drivers for Linux.
      Your card supports this driver: Radeon (Catalyst Legacy & Open Source)

      cheers

  4. Prashant April 15, 2012 at 7:49 pm

    I followed your article till removing drivers and reboot, after which I got blank screen after grub menu. I tried recovery option from grub as well. But, the screen just does not show off i.e remains blank. i tried removing the ‘quiet splash’ option and then I tried removing the vga=’some value’ option as well. But it remains blank.

    Now what to do? I’m not getting any screen only

  5. PawnStar June 21, 2012 at 5:14 pm

    Thank you, this just saved all my hard work from the past month or so.

  6. masew.com February 5, 2013 at 12:14 pm

    I’m no longer certain where you are getting your information, but good topic. I needs to spend a while learning much more or working out more. Thanks for fantastic information I used to be searching for this info for my mission.

  7. Ashton Burrell February 6, 2013 at 9:51 pm

    Oh my gosh thanks so much!!!

  8. Monlievmonlievt June 24, 2013 at 12:36 pm

    great tutorial.. it saved all my work…
    thanks bro #bighug

  9. lucky February 23, 2014 at 4:29 pm

    you are the best!!!
    Thank you so much :D
    You saved my day after upgrading Linux Mint 16 cinnamon.
    I got this error after upgrading too to the newest ATI graphics driver and doing sudo aticonfig –initial -f : “error while loading shared libraries libgl.so.1 cannot open shared object file”
    I forgot to repack the whole to .deb with Ubuntu/saucy :D
    there were several linking problems with 32 and 64 bit.

    no it works with still the best tutorial in 2014!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

